2015 KS Energy & Environment onderscheiding voor Golf GTE


Dit jaar is de Energy & Environment onderscheiding van automobielclub ‘Kraftfahrer Schutz e.V." (KS) naar de Volkswagen Group gegaan. De jury kende de prijs toe aan de innovatieve plug-in hybridetechnologie in de Golf GTE. Namens de Volkswagen Group nam Hanno Jelden, hoofd Powertrain Electronics bij Volkswagen, de prijs recent in ontvangst.

  • Automotive club "Kraftfahrerschutz e.V." recognises the Volkswagen Group for eighth time

This year, the Energy and Environment Prize of the automobile club "Kraftfahrer Schutz e.V." (KS) is being awarded to the Volkswagen Group. A jury of experts awarded the innovative plug-in hybrid in the Golf GTE(1) and Audi A3 e-tron(2). Accepting the award this morning in Munich was Hanno Jelden, Head of Powertrain Electronics at Volkswagen.

The judges were especially impressed by the fact that the technology that was optimally developed within the Volkswagen Group leads to extremely low fuel consumption figures while still enabling impressive driving performance and long driving ranges.

The plug-in hybrid in the Golf GTE and Audi A3 e-tron offers a fascinating combination of a quiet-running electric drive system and a powerful direct-injection engine. Both of the vehicles can be driven temporarily in an all-electric mode and with zero local emissions, and the judges were also impressed by the extremely agile character of the innovative drive system.

Technically, the plug-in hybrid is distinguished by a combined system power of 204 PS and fuel consumption of just 1.5 litres petrol per 100 km and electrical consumption of 11.4 kWh per 100 km. This equates to CO2 emissions of just 35 g/km. The hybrid accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h in 7.6 seconds and has a maximum torque of 350 Newton metres. The total driving range of the models is around 940 km. They can be driven up to 50 kilometres in its all-electric mode.

Despite strong competition, the awards committee was unanimous in its choice of the plug-in hybrid from Volkswagen. Members of the awards committee were Professor Dieter Anselm (Doctor of Engineering; previously with the company "Allianz Zentrum für Technik"), Professor Dieter Klamann (previously Head of Development at Esso), Miriam Häfele (German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy), Dr Roland Fischer (Bavarian Environmental Agency), Bernhard Steinhauser (Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology) and the journalists Isabella Finsterwalder ("Die Automobilfrau"), Dr Gerold Lingnau ("Frankfurter Allgemeine" newspaper), Hanns-Peter von Thyssen (freelance trade journalist) and Thomas Rosenberger ("lastauto omnibus" magazine). This was the eighth time the Volkswagen Group has won the tradition-rich KS Energy and Environment Prize for its brands.

The organization Kraftfahrerschutz e.V., which was founded in 1935, is one of the larger German automobile clubs with around 520,000 members. Every year since 1981, the awards committee has been judging technical developments that help car drivers to drive in a fuel-efficient and eco-friendly way. A precondition for the award is that these technologies must be used in practice and be available at reasonable prices. 

(1)Golf GTE: Fuel consumption, l/100 km: 1.7 - 1.5 (combined), electrical consumption, kWh/100 km: 12.4 - 11.4 (combined), CO2 emissions (combined), g/km: 39 - 35, efficiency class: A+
(2)Audi A3 e-tron: Fuel consumption, l/100 km: 1.7 - 1.5 (combined), electrical consumption, kWh/100 km: 12.4 - 11.4 combined), CO2 emissions (combined), g/km: 39 - 35, efficiency class: A+